Skip to main content

Connie Henke Yarbro Excellence in Cancer Nursing Mentorship Award

Recipients attending the ONS Congress® will be invited to meet with Connie Henke Yarbro and will be presented with this award at the Oncology Nursing Foundation reception or other programs. 

Important Dates: 

Applications Open: Fall 2022
Application Due:  February 15, 2023
Applicants notified via email by: March 2023

Note: An individual cannot receive this award more than one time.

Award: Recipient receives special recognition through a range of Oncology Nursing Foundation platforms, press recognition through Oncology Nursing Foundation, including, but not limited to, feature in Oncology Nursing Foundation newsletter, feature on Oncology Nursing Foundation website, and press release sent to list of colleagues and workplace provided by the winner. 

Purpose: To recognize and support excellence in the mentorship of oncology nurses.

Nomination: A nominator must submit the application to recognize the nominee/mentor. Nominees may be an oncology nurse (ONS member or non-member) or ONS Chapter that meets the qualifications outlined below.

To be eligible for the award, the nominee must:

  1. Be a registered nurse with at least two years of experience in oncology nursing or a Chapter established for at least two years.
  2. Have provided mentoring outside what is expected within work or employment responsibilities
  3. Demonstrate excellence in the mentorship of others in the practice of oncology nursing in the academic, clinical, or research setting.

The primary selection focus is the nominee’s contribution to mentoring oncology nurses outside their work-related responsibilities.

Support Letters: The nominator must provide at least 2 letters in support of the nominee that describes:

  • How the nominee has participated in mentoring relationships.  Be sure to include those qualities that distinguish the nominee.
  • The types of mentoring in which the nominee has participated (academic, clinical, research)
  • The outcomes of the relationship between the nominee and those mentored  
  • If the mentored individual works with the nominee, the letter must clearly describe how this mentoring went beyond what would be expected in an employment role.

To Apply:

Use the link below to apply.

Application deadline: 2023-02-15

Apply Online

2022 Award Recipient

Kathleen Shannon Dorcy

Kathleen Shannon Dorcy, PhD, RN, FAAN

Seattle, WA

Read More

Past Award Winners

Erica Fischer-Cartlidge 2021   Judith Payne 2010
Mei Fu 2020   Jane Armer 2009
Jeannine Brant 2019   Joan Haase 2008
Susan Mazanec 2018   Jean Brown 2007
Mary Elizabeth Davis 2017   Susie Maloney-Newton 2006
Laura Benson 2016   Marilyn Haas 2005
Pamela Ginex 2015   Judi Johnson 2004
Nancy Houlihan 2014   Christine Gatlin 2003
Phyllis Kaldor 2013   Brenda Shelton 2002
Bertie Fields 2012   Patricia Buchsel 2001
Karen Moore 2011   Shirley Gullo 2000
      Kevin Sowers 1999